Catalogue · IBM
IBM FlashSystem 5045
Entry · all-flash / hybrid (ssd + hdd) / disk (hdd) · multi-controller - Entry SAS-based FlashSystem that adds encryption, data reduction pools and clustering to the 5015. Built for mixed and virtualized workloads at small and midsize sites.
| Platform | |
|---|---|
| OEM | IBM |
| Family | FlashSystem |
| Class | Entry |
| Architecture | Multi-controller |
| Status | Current |
| Released | n/a |
| Operating system | IBM Storage Virtualize |
| Controllers | n/a |
| Nodes | n/a |
| Cache / memory | 64 GB |
| Availability | 99.9999% |
| Capacity and media | |
| Media | All-flash, Hybrid (SSD + HDD), Disk (HDD) |
| Drive types | SAS SSD, NL-SAS HDD |
| Drive note | 12 Gb SAS drives (2.5-inch SSD or 3.5-inch NL-SAS HDD); no FlashCore Modules. Sizes come from the FlashSystem portfolio media table, which tells buyers to check the Sales Manual for per-model availability |
| Flash drive sizes | 1.92, 3.84, 7.68, 15.36, 30.72 TB |
| HDD sizes | 12, 20, 24 TB |
| Maximum drives | n/a |
| Controller enclosure | 2U, 24 drive bays |
| Expansion | Expansion models 12H (12-drive), 24H (24-drive) and 92H (92-drive) |
| Raw capacity | 737 TB |
| Cluster maximum | n/a |
| Effective maximum | 573 TB |
| Data reduction | IBM publishes 573 TBe effective maximum in a single enclosure for FlashSystem 5000 but does not state the ratio. The 5045 supports data reduction pools with compression and deduplication. |
| Protection | n/a |
| Protection note | The portfolio datasheet says IBM Storage Virtualize offers Distributed RAID 1, 5 and 6, but points to each model's documentation for availability. The cited pages give no RAID list for the 5045. |
| Performance and connectivity | |
| Maximum IOPS | 1,200,000 |
| Maximum throughput | 12 GB/s |
| Latency | 70 µs |
| Conditions | Machine type 4680, control enclosure models 3P2 (12-drive) and 3P4 (24-drive). Raw (737 TB) and effective (573 TBe) maximums are per single enclosure. IOPS: 1.2M is 4K read hit (portfolio datasheet); the product page gives 400k for 4K read miss. Bandwidth is 256K read miss. Read response time <70 us is the FlashSystem 5000 figure on the family page. Maximum of 8 I/O ports per enclosure. IBM states the 5045 can cluster for scale-up and scale-out but does not publish the enclosure count, so controllers_max is null. |
| Protocols | Fibre Channel, iSCSI, SAS direct attach |
| Fibre Channel | 16 Gb |
| Ethernet | 10 GbE |
| Host ports | 8 |
| Limits | |
| Volumes / LUNs | n/a |
| File systems | n/a |
| Snapshots | n/a |
| Management and support | |
| Management | IBM Storage Virtualize GUI/CLI, IBM Storage Insights |
| Power | n/a |
| Positioned for | Virtualization, Backup target, Containers, Edge / ROBO |
| Warranty | One-year 9x5 standard; IBM Storage Expert Care Basic, Advanced or Premium (1-5 years) |
| Design terms | Storage pool (data reduction pool) · Volume · Host cluster · Policy-based replication |
| Data services | |
✓ Deduplication
✓ Compression
✓ Thin provisioning
? Snapshots
? Clones
? Asynchronous replication
? Synchronous replication
? Active-active / metro
✓ Encryption at rest
? Immutable snapshots
? Ransomware detection
? Quality of service
? Automated tiering
? Cloud tiering
? VMware vVols
? Kubernetes CSI
✕ Native file services
✕ Native object (S3)
? Non-disruptive upgrades
✓ Scale-out
✓ stated by the OEM · ✕ not offered · ? not stated | |
| Source | |
| Product page | https://www.ibm.com/products/flashsystem-5000 |
| Datasheet | https://www.ibm.com/downloads/documents/us-en/1443d5c92f402c02 |